Stan Tracey Octet at Herts Jazz Club

PATRON of Herts Jazz and St Albans resident Stan Tracey returns next Sunday, October 7, with his octet to open the new season of the weekly club for jazz fans.

The first-ever recipient of a Jazz Ivor at the Novello Awards ceremony earlier this year, he performed at the Umbria Jazz Festival in July,

Still as strong as ever, Stan received glowing reviews for his performance of his classic Under Milk Wood suite at the Herts Jazz Festival recently.

His octet ensemble has been around since the early Seventies and the musicians have performed at Herts Jazz to great acclaim over the past year or so.

The line-up is Stan Tracey (piano), Mark Armstrong (trumpet), Sam Mayne (alto), Mornington Lockett (tenor sax), Simon Allen (tenor sax), Alistair White (trombone), Andrew Cleyndert (bass) and Clark Tracey (drums).

You may also want to watch:

The evening at the club at Campus West, Welwyn Garden City, runs from 7.45pm to 10.30pm and tickets are �13 in advance from, �16 on the door and �5 for students.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter