Hertfordshire University caves into new season

A PERFORMANCE of Fingal’s Cave will get the de Havilland Phiharmonic’s new season underway next Sunday, October 10.

The popular work by Mendelssohn will be followed by Joseph Houston, winner of the 2010 Hatfield and District Music Festival, joining the orchestra to perform Brahm’s dramatic Piano Concerto No 1.

The concert, at The Weston Auditorium, University of Herts, will finish with Beethoven’s Symphony No 7, described by the composer as one of his best works.

Six more concerts will follow in the new season including the children’s concert entitled Stories from the Ballet on Sunday, November 7, featuring author and illustrator James Mayhew.

Well-known for his acclaimed Ella Bella Ballerina children’s books, he will tell stories from the ballet and illustrate them on stage accompanied by the orchestra.

You may also want to watch:

For more information go to the UKArts website www.herts.ac.uk/artsandgalleries or to book tickets call 01707 281127 or email uharts@herts.ac.uk

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter