Toor-led attack saves Radlett against Sawbridgeworth

Radlett’s bowling attack saved the day as, once again, after the batting line-up failed to score big, this time steering them to a 30-run win over Sawbridgeworth.

For the third time this year, when batting first, Jono McLean’s side failed to top 170 runs, putting responsibility of winning the game squarely on the bowlers’ shoulders.

And, for the second time this season, they defended the low total to keep them in the hunt for top spot in the Saracen Herts Premier Division.

After losing the toss, Radlett were put into bat and they proceeded to lose Fraser Crawford (11), Kabir Toor (5) and McLean (4), the latter two both departing with the score on 26. Tom Jenkins (5) followed soon after and Shane Burger (12) had a short stay at the crease as Radlett were reeling at 49-5.

Luckily for Radlett, Chad Barrett (67) and Hugh McDowell (31) bucked the trend and stood up in the face of Sawbridgeworth’s bowling. The pair added 91 runs for the sixth wicket before both fell in quick succession to Ryan Cunningham.

The tail followed the top orders lead and, apart from Ben Lederman (12*), it added just five runs to the total as Radlett bowed out for 169.

With a chance to capture just their second win of the season, the majority Sawbridgeworth’s batting order capitulated.

Most Read

Opener Danny Wilson scored just five runs before Lederman beat his bat and removed his stumps. The second wicket pairing had more success as Charlie Rudkin (20) and Roberts Sanders (45) found gaps in the field.

However, when Sanders was trapped LBW by Kabir Toor and Rudkin was clean bowled by Lederman, the middle order was opened up for the taking.

Only Michael Burrell (31) was able to find success as Radlett dismissed seven batsmen for single figures and bowled out Sawbridgeworth for 139.

Toor topped the bowling figures with 4-17 while Lederman, Robbie Crocker and Stuart Browne snared two apiece.