Vanarama National League South fixtures brings Concord Rangers to St Albans City on the opening day

PUBLISHED: 13:00 06 July 2016 | UPDATED: 13:06 06 July 2016

St Albans City's Louie Theophanous had a goal disallowed for handball against Concord Rangers last season. Picture: LEIGH PAGE

St Albans City's Louie Theophanous had a goal disallowed for handball against Concord Rangers last season. Picture: LEIGH PAGE

Archant

St Albans City’s first game of the new Vanarama National League South season will be a repeat of Ian Allinson’s first match in charge as manager.

Ian Allinson took charge of the Saints for the first time against Concord Rangers in February. Picture: LEIGH PAGEIan Allinson took charge of the Saints for the first time against Concord Rangers in February. Picture: LEIGH PAGE

Concord Rangers will arrive at Clarence Park on Saturday, August 6.

Last year Saints raced into a 2-0 lead thanks to Eddie Oshodi and Michael Thalassitis before the Canvey-Island-based side fought back late on to claim a draw.

The opening fixture is quickly followed by an away trip to Wealdstone two days later.

The two teams have swapped personnel over the summer with Shaun Lucien and Matt Ball arriving at City while Oshodi and chairman Nick Archer have moved to Grosvenor Vale.

Bath City away completes the opening week on August 13.

The fixture list actually is as near to perfection as you could get it.

Both local derbies against Hemel Hempstead will be played on a Tuesday night with the remaining midweek games that aren’t a bank holiday both at home.

The August Bank Holiday Monday takes City to the seaside at Weston-super-Mare with the return match on Easter Monday.

Oxford City provide the opposition on both Boxing Day and New Years Day

A visit to Eastbourne Borough on April 29 rounds off the season.

St Albans City fixtures:

Sat Aug 6 Concord Rangers H

Mon Aug 8 Wealdstone A

Sat Aug 13 Bath City A

Tue Aug 16 Chelmsford City H

Sat Aug 20 Welling United A

Sat Aug 27 Whitehawk H

Mon Aug 29 Weston-Super-Mare A

Sat Sep 3 Hampton and Richmond Borough H

Tue Sep 6 Poole Town H

Sat Sep 10 Maidenhead United A

Tue Sep 13 Hemel Hempstead Town H

Sat Sep 17 (FA Cup 2Q)

Sat Sep 24 Ebbsfleet United A

Sat Oct 1 (FA Cup 3Q)

Sat Oct 8 Gosport Borough H

Sat Oct 15 Dartford A (FA Cup 4Q)

Sat Oct 22 Bishop’s Stortford A

Sat Oct 29 Truro City H

Sat Nov 5 Margate A (FA Cup 1)

Sat Nov 12 Hungerford Town H

Sat Nov 19 East Thurrock United A

Sat Nov 26 (FA Trophy 3Q)

Sat Dec 3 Eastbourne Borough H (FA Cup 2)

Sat Dec 10 (FA Trophy 1)

Sat Dec 17 Hampton and Richmond Borough A

Mon Dec 26 Oxford City H

Sun Jan 1 Oxford City A

Sat Jan 7 Maidenhead United H (FA Cup 3)

Sat Jan 14 Welling United H (FA Trophy 2)

Sat Jan 21 Poole Town A

Sat Jan 28 Concord Rangers A (FA Cup 4)

Sat Feb 4 Wealdstone H (FA Trophy 3)

Sat Feb 11 Chelmsford City A

Sat Feb 18 Bath City H (FA Cup 5)

Sat Feb 25 Truro City A (FA Trophy 4)

Wed Mar 1 (FA Cup 5 Replay)

Sat Mar 4 Bishop’s Stortford H

Sat Mar 11 Ebbsfleet United H (FA Cup 6 / FA Trophy Semi-Final (1))

Sat Mar 18 Gosport Borough A (FA Trophy Semi-Final (2))

Tue Mar 21 Hemel Hempstead Town A

Sat Mar 25 Dartford H

Sat Apr 1 Hungerford Town FC A

Sat Apr 8 Margate H

Sat Apr 15 Whitehawk A

Mon Apr 17 Weston-Super-Mare H

Sat Apr 22 East Thurrock United H (FA Cup Semi-Final)

Sat Apr 29 Eastbourne Borough A

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Herts Advertiser