Radlett knocked out of ECB Club Championship

Kabir Toor bowls against Sawbridgeworth

Kabir Toor bowls against Sawbridgeworth - Credit: Archant

Radlett are out of the ECB Club Championship after a 148-run loss to Ealing, who were crowned Division 15 winners.

It was a disappointing end to the competition for the Cobden Hill side as they fell one win shy of reaching the national stages where they would have faced East Anglian Premier Division leaders Swardeston.

There was little they could do, however, in the face of superb bowling from Ealing, led by Chris Glasper.

The right-arm seamer took three wickets, including that of skipper Jono McLean, who scored a match-winning 65 against Osterley to set up Sunday’s tie, and opener Tom Jenkins, as Radlett were bowled out for 92.

With the team’s top scorer, McLean, out for two and Jenkins for 14, both caught by Chris Wakefield, Radlett stood little chance of successfully chasing down Ealing’s 240.

And so it proved. Kabir Toor, Radlett’s second highest scorer this season, top-scored with 22 and Ben Lederman, in at nine, chipped in with 16 runs but it was a poor outing.

Glasper finished with figures of 3-32 while Mylo Wilkin, the catalyst behind Ealing’s terrific score, snared two wickets. It was the economy of the line-up that shone through, however, as only one of their six bowlers went for more than 3.5 runs an over.

Most Read

Radlett weren’t able to find the same production after being asked to field first. Only one of their six bowlers kept the run-rate under 3.5 an over as Ealing, in particular Wilkin (61) and David Holt (60), found success.

The pair put 114 runs on the board before Lederman (4-58) rearranged Holt’s stumps. Their partnership took the pressure off the middle and tail orders, allowing Leigh Parry (14), Wakefield (17) and Huw Jones (21) to add decent knocks.

Glasper was bowled first ball by Stan Tinkler (2-43) but he would have the last laugh as he guided Ealing into round five.