No place for Isiekwe as Eddie Jones shuffles his pack ahead of England’s second test against South Africa

Nick Isiekwe misses out on England's squad for the second test against South Africa in Bloemfontain.

Nick Isiekwe misses out on England's squad for the second test against South Africa in Bloemfontain. Picture: PAUL HARDING/PA - Credit: PA Wire/PA Images

After earning his first start in last week’s first test, Nick Isiekwe finds himself completely out of the matchday squad as England prepare for the second test in South Africa.

The St Albans man had been sacrificed before half-time as England surrendered a good early lead to wave after wave of South African pressure.

And with Joe Launchbury fit again after his calf injury, the 20-year-old is again the man to make way.

That is one of two changes from Johannesburg for Eddie Jones’s men, the other being the first start for Brad Shields.

Danny Cipriani replaces Piers Francis on the bench and Mark Wilson of Newcastle Falcons is also set to finish.

Jones said: “We have come here to win the series against South Africa and the squad is ready to go out and beat them this weekend.

“We have had a very good preparation this week and the intensity and executions in those sessions are going to put us in a good position for Saturday.

Most Read

“The way the team have come together has been superb. Owen Farrell, with a number of the senior players, has really moulded the squad together. They are working hard to improve their game to make sure we win.”

He added: “When you have a win like South Africa did on Saturday you come into the game with a bit of confidence so we have to make sure we dent the Springboks’ confidence early.

“Bloemfontein is a very fast ground at altitude. It has an average of 60 points per Test match so we are anticipating an ebb-and-flow type game like we had in Johannesburg.”

The third and final test is in Cape Town on June 23.

England team to face South Africa:

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 19 caps)

14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 35 caps)

13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 11 caps)

12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 59 caps)

11 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 70 caps)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 46 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 75 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 50 caps)

2 Jamie George (Saracens, 26 caps)

3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 11 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 52 caps)

5 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 20 caps)

6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes/ Wasps, 1 cap)

7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 2 cap)

8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 35 caps)


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 6 caps)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 57 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)

19 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)

20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 15 caps)

21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 1 cap)

22 Danny Cipriani (Wasps, 14 caps)

23 Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, 3 caps)