St Albans City get tough away draw in FA Trophy

Albert Adu scored the winner on St Albans City's last trip to Welling United. Picture: KARYN HADDON

Albert Adu scored the winner on St Albans City's last trip to Welling United. Picture: KARYN HADDON - Credit: Archant

St Albans City will face familiar foes after the draw for the third qualifying round of the FA Trophy was made.

Saints will travel to Welling United on November 23, one of six ties pitting National League South sides together.

They will go with confidence, however, despite sitting second from bottom of the table.

A trip to Park View Road last month brought a 1-0 win courtesy of Albert Adu's goal, only their second league win of the season.

Saints will be hoping to use the competition as a springboard to better fortunes although previous history doesn't show the competition in a good light for the Clarence Park club.

Only once in the last five seasons have they advanced beyond this stage. That was in 2017-18 when they were eventually beaten by Harrogate Town in the second round.

Last year Weymouth's 2-0 replay win ended their participation.

Most Read

FA Trophy third qualifying round draw in full:

1 Curzon Ashton v Kidderminster Harriers

2 York City v Altrincham

3 Workington v Farsley Celtic

4 Hednesford Town v Nantwich Town or Coalville Town

5 Runcorn Linnets or Prescot Cables v FC United of Manchester

6 Darlington v Gainsborough Trinity

7 Gloucester City v Bradford (Park Avenue)

8 Blyth Spartans v Alfreton Town

9 Brackley Town v Chester

10 Stourbridge or Lancaster City v South Shields

11 Guiseley v AFC Telford United

12 Matlock Town v Barwell or Redditch United

13 Colne v Southport

14 King's Lynn Town v Hereford

15 Atherton Collieries v Boston United

16 Peterborough Sports v Kettering Town

17 Halesowen Town v Gateshead

18 Leamington v Spennymoor Town

19 Dulwich Hamlet v Chippenham Town

20 Bath City v Gosport Borough

21 Sholing or Barton Rovers v Hitchin Town or Bedfont Sports or Paulton Rovers

22 Tonbridge Angels v Bognor Regis Town

23 Weymouth v Hastings United or Whitehawk

24 Chelmsford City v Hungerford Town

25 Havant & Waterlooville v Cinderford Town

26 Carshalton Athletic or Frome Town v Tooting & Mitcham United

27 Enfield Town v Maldon & Tiptree or Folkestone Invicta

28 Braintree Town v Yate Town

29 Metropolitan Police or Biggleswade Town v Taunton Town or Aveley

30 Blackfield & Langley or Kingstonian v AFC Sudbury

31 Eastbourne Borough v Westfield or Hartley Wintney

32 Leatherhead v Dorking Wanderers

33 Concord Rangers v Slough Town

34 Maidstone United v Dartford

35 Haringey Borough v Hemel Hempstead Town

36 Wealdstone v Royston Town

37 Oxford City v Hornchurch

38 Billericay Town v Hampton & Richmond Borough

39 Welling United v St Albans City

40 Salisbury v Hayes & Yeading United or Soham Town Rangers