Bowls: St Albans win Maurice Watson Trophy

PUBLISHED: 10:37 19 May 2014

The St Albans Bowling Club beat Hemel Hempstead to win the Maurice Watson Trophy.

The trophy was donated by the family of a past president of the St Albans and District Bowling Association. The Competition has taken several formats over the years but currently teams of four participate from member clubs and a draw takes place on the day to decide which clubs play each other. The team with the highest winning difference wins.

The St Albans team of Alan Turner, John Cooper, Andy Kay and John Bartlett were the winning team this year. They beat a John Tierney skipped team 30-12.

In the County Fours Competition Pauline Gardiner, Barbara Davis, Eileen Englebright and Tricia Gascoine beat Welwyn Garden City 28-11.

The midweek men played Hatfield in the District League on Wednesday. Although St Albans only lost the match by five shots, 83-78, they lost on three of the four rinks. The top rink was Oliver Wall, Colin Smith, Neville Simons and Tony Rylands.

St Albans lost to Welwyn & District Bowls Club in the County Club Championship by 78 shots to 37 before beating Hemel 98-80.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Herts Advertiser