St Albans local election result 2019: Conservative administration toppled

The St Albans district council count at Batchwood Sports Centre. Picture: Anne Suslak

The St Albans district council count at Batchwood Sports Centre. Picture: Anne Suslak - Credit: Archant

St Albans voters made their voices heard at the polling station on election day to overturn the reigning administration.

For eight years Conservatives have held control of St Albans district council (SADC), with 30 out of 57 seats occupied by a politician from the Tory party.

But after a revolutionary election day on May 2 for 21 seats in 20 wards, the Liberal Democrats now hold 25 seats - more than any other party.

However, no one group has overall control and there must now be negotiations behind the scenes to create a controlling administration.

Labour hold six seats, the Green Party retained one, Conservatives kept only 23, and Redbourn once again elected an independent candidate.

Former council leader Alec Campbell was one of the Conservatives to concede a seat to Lib Dem Will Tucker.

The overall turnout was 39.9 per cent, down from 46.58 per cent in 2018.

Most Read


- Sandra Wood held Wheathampstead.

- Roger Butterworth held Harpenden West.

- Geoffrey Newman held Harpenden East.

- Brian Ellis held Harpenden South.

- Bert Pawle held Harpenden North.

- Frances Leonard held Sandridge.

- Dave Winstone held St Stephen.

Liberal Democrat:

- Clare Julien took Marshalswick North (previously Conservative).

- Emma Matanle and Mandy McNeil elected to Sopwell. It was previously Labour and vacant.

- Chris Brazier held Colney Heath.

- Stephen Barrett took Verulam (previously Conservative).

- Mohammad Iqbal Zia held Ashley.

- Robert Donald held Cunningham.

- Karen Young took Marshalswick South (previously Conservative).

- Sayed Abidi took Park Street (previously Conservative).

- Danny Clare held Clarence.

- Will Tucker took St Peters from council leader Conservative Alec Campbell.

- Liz Needham took Batchwood (previously Conservative).


- Helen Pakenham took London Colney (previously Conservative).


- David Mitchell took the independent seat at Redbourn (previously independent Maxine Crawley).