University of Hertfordshire students celebrate graduation

University of Hertfordshire graduations 2018. Picture: University of Hertfordshire

University of Hertfordshire graduations 2018. Picture: University of Hertfordshire - Credit: Archant

Students are celebrating at St Albans Cathedral this week as they graduate from the University of Hertfordshire.

Around 16,000 students are donning graduation robes and descending on the city centre alongside family and friends between Monday, September 3 and Tuesday, September 11.

The University is also awarding honorary degrees to ‘pillars of the community’ for outstanding contributions to academic disciplines, charity, professions or public service.

This year’s recipients include celebrated soprano Sarah Brightman, former international footballer and founder of the Willow Foundation Robert Wilson OBE, author Kenneth Follett and Judge Andrew Bright QC, who presides over cases at St Albans crown court.

The awards will be presented by university chancellor Lord Salisbury, vice-chancellor Professor Quintin McKellar, deputy vice-chancellor Professor Ian Campbell and Richard Beazley, who is pro-chancellor and chairman of the board of governors.

The university’s secretary and registrar Sue Grant, who leads the academic procession at the ceremonies, said: “We are incredibly proud of our graduates and these ceremonies reward the dedication and well-deserved achievements of our students.

“We continue to strive to develop graduates with the knowledge, skills and attributes to equip them for future challenges and opportunities.

Most Read

“We wish them all the very best and look forward to keeping in touch as they move on to the next stage of their lives.”

Other recipients of honorary degrees include the Venerable Trevor Pryce Jones, for his services to the Hertfordshire community, Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted, for her contribution to the development of EU policy, David Pearson for his contribution to the marketing industry, playwright and screenwriter Jez Butterworth, film editor Walter Murch, Dame Helen Hyde for her work in education, Michael McGrath for his work with disabled people, Mark Coulier for his contribution to the film industry, charity worker Dame Mary Marsh and scientists Damen Janet Maureen Thornton and Professor Felix Konotey-Ahulu, for their contributions to bioinformatics and sickle cell disease research respectively.