Wed, 09:37

The best thing about renting is that, when something goes wrong, it’s not you that’s paying to fix it.

Friday, September 11, 2020

An upmarket Hertfordshire village has seen one of the biggest increases in agreed property sales in Britain this year.

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Oh, the joys of moving house! The elation of having completed a purchase/secured a desired tenancy lasts all of about five seconds before the next round of misery begins.

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Property sales agreed in St Albans have risen by more than 100 per cent over the last year, one of the biggest increases seen anywhere in the UK.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

St Albans has one of the lowest percentages of stamp duty exempt properties currently for sale in the UK, new data has revealed.

Friday, September 4, 2020

Britain’s homes are selling faster than at any point in the last decade, with the stamp duty holiday credited with speeding up the market.

Thursday, September 3, 2020

UK house prices reached an all-time high last month, with Nationwide recording the largest monthly increase in 16 years.

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

September’s here, but there’s no sign of the unexpected summer property boom drawing to a close just yet.

Thursday, August 27, 2020

We know the St Albans property sales market’s hot, but who knew it was the same story for lettings?

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

The stamp duty holiday has led to a ‘moving frenzy’ in the commuter belt, with St Albans seeing one of Britain’s biggest increases in new property listings.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Let Hertfordshire’s Secret Estate Agent answer your property questions and give an insight into the world of estate agency.

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Mixed messages for the local housing market over the last week, with the news that the UK is officially in a recession being countered by continued talk of a property mini boom.

Monday, August 17, 2020

The number of Londoners seeking a new life in St Albans was up by 10.5 per cent last year compared to 2018, research has revealed.

Thursday, August 13, 2020

What a weird few months it’s been in the world of property.

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

New changes to planning law could spell the death of the high street as we know it according to one local commercial property expert.

Friday, August 7, 2020

UK house prices increased by 3.8 per cent over the last year and are now at their highest level ever, according to the latest Halifax house price index.

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Oh, we do like to be beside the seaside - particularly during a pandemic.

Wednesday, August 5, 2020

Radlett and Shenley are the most unaffordable places to be a tenant in Hertfordshire, with residents spending an average of 88 per cent of their income on rent.

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

A solid monthly increase in UK house prices doesn’t necessarily spell great news for the property market in the longer term, with Nationwide warning of a “false dawn”.

Thursday, July 30, 2020

To say that the consequences of the coronavirus pandemic have been far reaching is an understatement – the death toll is still rising, and very few of us have escaped the financial fallout.

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Between Brexit, the election and COVID-19, estate agents haven’t had it easy. Putterills managing director Mark Shearing, 57, told Jane Howdle what life as an agent in post-lockdown Herts has been like.

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

A south-facing garden is a licence to cash in to the tune of an extra £22,000, according to Rightmove – a trend Hertfordshire movers don’t seem to be following.

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

City dwellers keen to sample suburban life before committing to a more permanent move have led to an increase in demand for rental properties in and around Harpenden and St Albans.

Thursday, July 23, 2020

What’s not to like about a ‘mini-boom’?

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

British property prices have hit a record high thanks to a housing boom kick-started by the stamp duty holiday.

Thursday, July 16, 2020

Well, that was a memorable week.

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

There has been a surge in interest in commuter belt homes priced up to half a million pounds since the stamp duty threshold was increased last week.

Monday, July 13, 2020

New research has confirmed that money can buy happiness, and St Albans is one of the happiest – and wealthiest places in the UK.

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

The stamp duty threshold has today been increased from £125,000 to £500,000, meaning savings of up to £15,000 for Hertfordshire movers.

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

It’s been brewing since we went into lockdown back in March, and now every other property-related article is telling us how brilliant rural living is – and how increasingly popular it’s become.

CountryPhile Zoo Watch

Most read stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the The Herts Advertiser e-edition E-edition