Thursday, September 13, 2018

John Lewis & Partners, which has a department store in Welwyn Garden City and branches of Waitrose in St Albans, Stevenage and Hitchin, has announced a 99 per cent drop in its profits.

Friday, September 7, 2018

You can hand in knives with no questions asked at three Hertfordshire police stations as part of a knife amnesty this September.

Friday, September 7, 2018

Lots of activities are afoot to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the closure of the Hatfield to St Albans railway line.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

With one of the UK’s largest Jewish populations, police in Hertsmere have been patrolling Jewish organisations to prevent antisemitic hate crime.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Hatfield and St Albans firefighters were called out to a horse stuck up to her neck in mud in a dramatic operation.

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Care providers are worried about a shortage of Hertfordshire carers after Brexit, according to a recent council report.

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Young cheerleaders from Welwyn Hatfield and St Albans have earned national success, and now need sponsorship to go global.

Monday, July 23, 2018

Govia Thameslink has axed its rail replacement buses after improvements in reliability.

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Lidl, Aldi, Sainsbury’s, Iceland, and Tesco have all had to recall frozen products containing sweetcorn after a supplier warned of possible listeria contamination. See here for the full product list.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

The company, which has shops in Welwyn Garden City and St Albans, said its profits this year are predicted to be ‘close to zero’.

Monday, June 25, 2018

A train tracking fault that affected rail information for Great Northern and Thameslink services has now been resolved.

Friday, June 22, 2018

A flytip of gargantuan proportions has appeared in picturesque woods belonging to Brocket Hall on the outskirts of Welwyn Garden City.

Thursday, June 21, 2018

A modern-day Canterbury Tales is coming through Hatfield and St Albans in July in solidarity with refugees.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

A lorry blaze on the M25 at South Mimms has closed two lanes of traffic.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Carphone Warehouse, with stores in Welwyn Garden City, Hatfield, St Albans, and Stevenage, has announced 92 closures.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Pub managers from across Hertfordshire and beyond stopped pulling pints and started pushing pedals to raise money for Macmillan on Thursday.

Thursday, May 24, 2018

It appears there is a little more flexibility than first thought on recycling rigid plastics.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The chief executive of Hertfordshire County Council has announced his retirement.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Police are on the lookout for a suspect seen wheeling a suitcase, after two Kimpton homes were burgled.

Friday, May 11, 2018

All Thameslink lines are running at reduced speed thanks to the disruption.

Saturday, April 28, 2018

Two lanes were closed after a crash between junctions 11 and 10.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Waste recycling centres across the county were full to overflowing, causing the service to shut down early at the weekend.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Here’s your Hertfordshire weather forecast for the weekend and beyond.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

A crash on the M25 is causing long tailbacks affecting traffic for St Albans, London Colney, Hatfield, South Mimms and Potters Bar.

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Police are appealing for witnesses after a driver died in St Albans early this morning.

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Highways England has warned motorists of congestion on the M25 between junctions 20 and 22 near St Albans after a lorry overturned early this morning.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

A kitten in Kimpton has been left with singed paws after he scampered into the engine of a Peugeot van.

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

After a snowy start, here’s the weather forecast for your drive home and overnight tonight (December 27) around Welwyn Hatfield, St Albans, Stevenage, Hitchin and Potters Bar.

CountryPhile Zoo Watch

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the The Herts Advertiser e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Herts Advertiser weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy