Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Women in St Albans were not allowed to vote in the first election after women’s suffrage, according to the Herts Advertiser from December 1918.

Monday, February 5, 2018

A homeowner living in a city centre cul-de-sac has urged the council to tackle the problem of non-residents using up parking spaces and blocking the road.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Harpenden schools scored highly in the recent education progress tables which ranked schools according to the new ‘Progress 8’ system.

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Pupils at a school in Harpenden were presented with their Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Awards after a 95 per cent success rate.

Saturday, February 3, 2018

Schools in St Albans and Harpenden have been ranked for pupils’ performance in new education progress league tables.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Luton Airport is hosting a week-long exhibition at the Palace of Westminster in celebration of its 80th birthday.

Thursday, February 1, 2018

The line-up has been announced for the activities held in Kids Field at this year’s Meraki Festival.

Thursday, February 1, 2018

A housing association has appointed a new outreach worker to help street drinkers get the help they need.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

An artist from St Albans has been shortlisted for a £15,000 national art prize.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

St Albans Cathedral has donated proceeds from the Fireworks Spectacular in Verulamium Park to its chosen charities.

Monday, January 29, 2018

The St Albans branch of Raymond Blanc’s restaurant, Brasserie Blanc, is set to close next week.

Sunday, January 28, 2018

St Albans Liberal Democrats have called for a cross-party solution to solve the crisis facing the NHS, arguing that it is “too important to be left to party politics”.

Thursday, January 25, 2018

A large collection of comics will go on sale next month at the Oxfam Bookshop in St Albans.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

A Shenley man has been jailed for four years after being caught in a police sting operation trying to arrange sex with children.

Monday, January 22, 2018

Activists wearing penguin masks took to the streets of St Albans as part of a campaign to protect the Antarctic.

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Redbourn has been shortlisted in a national competition to be crowned village of the year.

Saturday, January 20, 2018

A Radlett learning centre has started offering a new maths tutoring programme to help pupils meet the demands of the new maths GCSE.

Friday, January 19, 2018

A Harpenden campaign group is calling on Luton Airport to reduce the impact of air traffic noise and pollution on residents living below flight paths ahead of any expansion.

Friday, January 19, 2018

Police were called after a man attempted to burgle a house in St Albans.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

A group which brings together charities around St Albans is inviting residents to get more involved in volunteering.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

A team of Boots beauty experts has won an award for their charity fundraising.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Work has started on the construction of new homes on the site of a former convent in St Albans.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

A team of St Albans pupils has paired up with a day centre for people with Alzheimer’s and dementia as part of the Dragon’s Apprentice challenge.

Monday, January 15, 2018

A Ryder Cup star is heading to a St Albans golf club to raise money for Prostate Cancer UK.

Sunday, January 14, 2018

A Harpenden organisation which aims to help people in the community raised thousands of pounds for charity over the holidays.

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Get your saucepans at the ready for the annual St Albans pancake race.

Friday, January 12, 2018

School governors have put an action plan in place after a St Albans School received an ‘inadequate’ Ofsted rating.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

An award-winning bridal designer is visiting a St Albans wedding dress boutique to showcase her 2018 collection.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

A petition to build a new A&E hospital central to St Albans, Watford and Dacorum is being supported by former Labour MP Kerry Pollard.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

The planned expansion of Luton Airport and the impact aircraft noise will have on communities have been condemned by district MPs.

CountryPhile Zoo Watch

Most read stories

Local business directory

Hertfordshire's trusted business finder
HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the The Herts Advertiser e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter